The Mindful Merchant

Shop – Eat – Live – Mindfully

Crunchy Granola June 19, 2010

Filed under: children,healthy,recipes,save money — MindfulMerchant @ 12:26 pm

 

My kids like to help in the kitchen. Tomorrow they are going to “cook” their traditional Father’s Day breakfast. (Co-incidentally, it happens to be the exact same menu as  Mother’s Day breakfast.) We awake to lots of clanging and banging around in the kitchen mixed with loud “Shhhhh’s”. When we come downstairs, coffee is made (they push the button to ON), the table is set with pretty yogurt parfaits and the kitchen looks like a bomb went off. Our favourite parfaits are simply layers of vanilla yogurt, fresh berries and granola. Tasty and fancy shmancy looking.

 

We love granola. I stumbled upon an old  recipe. I forgot how good it was, and how I can customize it to accommodate my fussy eaters. It is much cheaper to make it too. The brand we buy is expensive and rarely goes on sale.

 

As like most of my recipes, I use small handfuls that work out to ¼ of a cup or a ½-cup depending on my mood. The original recipe came from my friend Alice. We worked together in Toronto. She passed away suddenly a few years ago and I think of her whenever I make it. (I also think of her whenever I hear Neil Diamond. She was a fan.) This recipe makes a BIG batch and it lasts in an airtight container for about a month.

 

 

 

 

 

Alice’s “Good for you” Granola

 

2 ½ or 3 cups rolled oats

Handful of sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, sliced almonds, unsweetened grated coconut

Couple of spoonfuls of ground flaxseed

½ cup of maple syrup

2 tbsp of honey

2 tbsp of safflower oil or vegetable oil

(Optional – dried fruit like cranberries, blueberries, raisins or cherries)

 

In a large bowl, combine maple syrup, honey and safflower oil. Toss in all the other ingredients except the dried fruit and spread out evenly on a cookie sheets. Bake for 20-25 minutes until lightly brown. Give it a stir a few times during the baking and add the dried fruit after you take it out the oven. Let it cool and store in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

 

If you like to eat granola this is an easy, tasty recipe.  Happy Father’s Day!

 

 

p1016199copy_thumb7

 

6 Responses to “Crunchy Granola”

  1. XUP Says:

    Not a big granola fan. I like a good, substantial breakfast myself. I don’t like all those different things mixed together – you never know what you’re going to bite into – lol

  2. Ah, no mixing of the layers…I see. lol I would never eat granola on it’s own, but I like it sprinkled on things and only if it is consumed quickly. Soggy granola is just nasty.

  3. I like granola and Neil Diamond.

    Always buy it because I forget how easy it is to make – all thsoe ingredients seem like so much work so thanks for reminding me that they’re not. Will try this recipe.

  4. Pauline Says:

    Hmmm..I love granola and will definitely try the recipe!


Comments are closed.