The Mindful Merchant

Shop – Eat – Live – Mindfully

Sanitizer Insanity October 8, 2009

Filed under: all natural,eco-friendly,green,healthy,non-toxic,Uncategorized — MindfulMerchant @ 8:57 pm
Tags: ,

 

hand_sanitizer_sampler-2_copy

I am a worrywart. I am always fretting about something, global warming, killer bees migrating to Canada, bird flu, bear attacks (?) and the list goes on. My friends and family still laugh at my stockpiles during the year 2000 drama. Do you remember that? I had enough staples that we could bunker down in our basement for at least six months. They can mock my efforts all they want, but if the world collapsed because computers could not process the number 2000, I know they would have been ringing my doorbell wanting to share the rice and bean supplies, cooked to perfection in my fondue pot.

As you probably have guessed, I am nervous about H1N1. Every day the media and the government have new information about this virus. Our children are bringing home letters about school board pandemic policies and practices. Even the local hockey league has a section devoted to their information and advice about this topic. I am driving my hubby nuts talking about my daily findings.  Love ya!

I think all we can do is educate ourselves, stay calm, eat well, sleep well, keep our bodies in optimum health and make informed decisions for our family and ourselves. One of the best ways to ward off the flu and other viruses is good hand washing practices. It sounds silly to discuss when and how to wash your hands but it is definitely worth a review with our children.

 

Here are a few reminders…

– Bar soaps are not as hygienic as liquid soaps.

– Forget antibacterial soap, they offer no benefit over regular soap and water.

– Make sure you scrub under fingernails, between fingers and up the wrist – for at least 20 seconds and rinse for at least 10 seconds (remind children to wash for the duration of the tune of Twinkle Twinkle little star)

– During cold and flu season, give every family member their own towel to try their hands.

– You must remove all rings and jewellery before washing to do a proper job.

 

If you cannot wash your hands (as when travelling Hwy 401 and the rest station is out of soap and paper towels – disgusting!) hand sanitizers are a good option. There is much controversy regarding hand sanitizers. Antibacterial wipes and hand sanitizers contain over 65% -95% Ethyl Alcohol to be effective. Infused with chemicals, they can be harmful to our bodies. Only 1 or 2 ounces of the stuff is enough to be fatal to a child. The Cosmetics Safety Database rates Purell and Dial hand sanitizers a score of 7 high hazard out of 10. 

I have found a good natural alternative that is kinder to sensitive skin than generic brands. It is a hand sanitizer by CleanWell. This product is 100% biodegradable, free of toxic chemicals, safe for kids (no ingestion risk) and it kills 99.9% of harmful germs on contact including E. Coli, Salmonella and resistant Staph. I have put the small containers in my purse, the children’s backpacks and the car when hand washing is not possible. Our kids can easily manage the spray application and they like the scent. If you are looking for a safe and effective hand sanitizer this cold and flu season I highly recommend this product.

Be safe and healthy.

 

P1016199

 

4 Responses to “Sanitizer Insanity”

  1. Cindy Lee Says:

    Hi Laura, great article! Where’s a good place to buy these?

    Cindy

  2. Chantal Says:

    All good info to know. Thanks! I picked this up at the Supertore yesterday and put it in my van 🙂 http://www.x3clean.com/index.html

    I like that it is available at the superstore so it is easy for me to get (with my schedule shopping around can be a problem).

  3. I am glad to hear it is available at Superstores too. Thanks 🙂


Comments are closed.