The Mindful Merchant

Shop – Eat – Live – Mindfully

The SIGG Saga September 17, 2009

Filed under: eco-friendly,health warning,heath and safety,toxic — MindfulMerchant @ 11:21 pm
Tags: ,

 

 

Many friends have asked me what to do with the pre-2008 production SIGG water bottles containing the BPA (Bisphenol A) lining. Here is an interesting 2nd letter posted on the SIGG company website from CEO Steve Wasik.

 

 

 

 

Dear SIGG Customer,

(STAMFORD CT) – Last month, I wrote a letter to try and provide you with as much factual and historical information as I could in regards to the 8060.30[1]evolution of the SIGG bottle liner. I also suggested that people could email me if they had any questions and comments.
After reading and responding to hundreds of emails and viewing nearly as many blog & Twitter posts, I realize that my first letter may have missed the mark. What I should have said simply and loudly to all of our loyal SIGG fans is: I am sorry that we did not make our communications on the original SIGG liner more clear from the very beginning.
I have learned much over the past 2 weeks. I learned that many of you purchased SIGG bottles – not just because they were free from leaching and safe – but because you believed that SIGGs contained no BPA. I learned that, although SIGG never marketed the former liner as “BPA Free” we should have done a better job of both clearly communicating about our liner as well as policing others who may have misunderstood the SIGG message.
For over 100 years, SIGG has earned a reputation for quality products and service – and we do not take that for granted. From the day we made our announcement last month, we made a commitment consistent with SIGG values that we would offer anyone who is concerned about BPA an opportunity to swap their old SIGGs for new SIGGs with the new EcoCare liner. Today, I am announcing that this voluntary
Exchange Program will be in place until October 31, 2009 to ensure that our customers have ample time to send their former liner bottles back to us should they choose to do so.
Once again, I truly apologize for the lack of clarity in our previous communications. All of us at SIGG hope that we will have an opportunity to regain your confidence and trust.
Sincerely,
 
Steve Wasik
CEO, SIGG Switzerland

 

 

  

Bottles containing the former liner can be mailed for exchange directly to SIGG.  The information on how to identify your bottle and participate in the exchange can be found by clicking this link.

My reaction to Mr. Wasik’s original letter was anger and mistrust.  I quickly made the decision not to buy or use SIGG products again. This second letter (with the PR spin) has made me change my thinking slightly. Clearly, the company realizes this is a corporate catastrophe.  I imagine Patagonia terminating all business with SIGG last week was a good indicator of the magnitude of their mistakes. Speaking with many friends about this dilemma, almost everyone agrees to give SIGG a second chance in the hopes they have learned from this and will be honest in the future. I also believe in giving second chances…and will be cautiously optimistic.

If you are not inclined to mail the bottles to SIGG directly, I suggest you contact the store you originally purchased them.  My friends and family report that L’il Niblets & Baby Sprouts (Toronto) is providing  an excellent hassle free experience returning the old BPA lined SIGG bottles. Great customer service!   Here is shout out for Boomarang Kids (Ottawa)  They agreed to exchange the SIGG BPA bottles (up until the October 31 deadline) even if you didn’t purchase it at their store!  That is impressive!  

I hope this information is helpful.  It looks like we will have to be patient with the arrival of new exchanged bottles…I have heard SIGG is overwhelmed and scrambling to deal with the return debacle.  Please let me know how it works out.  Good luck!

 

P1016199

