The Mindful Merchant

Shop – Eat – Live – Mindfully

A Sensitive Topic September 15, 2009

Filed under: eco-friendly,environmentally friendly,green,reduce,save money — MindfulMerchant @ 3:26 pm
Tags: ,

 

 

mummies[1]

I cannot find a pretty way to write about toilet paper.  No amount of floral pictures, billowy clouds or adorable kittens can cure the uncomfortable feeling I get when discussing this topic.  I have always been a fan of the 3 ply fancy-shmancy stuff.  It is a luxury that until recently, I was not prepared to give up.  Selfish, selfish woman, I know!

My friend Heather gave me a few rolls of Cascades recycled bathroom tissue to try along with an encouraging pep talk that included the phrases “Just give it a try”  and a “You can do it!”. I am the only person who goes out on a fitness walk with friends and comes home with rolls of toilet paper stuffed in my jacket.  “What the heck is that?!”  my husband asked eyeing my extra lumpy coat.  I could hear the apprehension in his voice.  Da Da!  I whipped out a roll and displayed the product like a  model on the Price is Right.  “Recycled toilet paper!” (said with artistic sweeping gestures). I was instantly advised there was “No way am I using someone else’s used toilet paper!!”  Then I explained that is made from 100 % recycled fibers, bleached without chlorine and is wrapped with recycled plastic packaging (which can in turn be recycled). My closing sales pitch was pointing out it was 2 ply, only 1 ply less than our usual brand. We agreed (sort of) that we would all keep an open mind and give the product a try.cascades_env_bt_24rd_f

According to the Going Green Guidebook:  If everyone replaced 1 roll of conventional toilet paper with a roll of 100% recycled material, we’d save 423,900 trees.

Our home experiment results were quite positive. I’m not going to tell you we can’t tell a difference – that would be misleading. I will say that it wasn’t as big a deal as I thought it would be. There is no need to wrap your hand like a mummy if that is your concern. Cascades is a Canadian company committed to sustainable and responsible environmental manufacturing practices. That is worth supporting don’t you think?

The “bottom” line is this…it does the job. It is cheaper than regular brands (high five!), and it is better for the environment. Why not give it a try?  If I can do it, anyone can.

 

P1016199

