The Mindful Merchant

Shop – Eat – Live – Mindfully

let’s Dish September 13, 2009

MANDARIN_GRAPEFRUIT_DISHWASHING_LIQUID_800mL_lores

I would rather pick cat hair off our old wingback chair than wash dishes. I really dislike washing dishes. Yes, I have tried using protective gloves but wearing them gives me the willies. I consider the clean up involved when choosing a meal for my family. Roast beef? Forget about it! I cringe at the thought of scrubbing the pan after that cooking process. Luckily, my husband is great about helping in the dish department. Love ya honey!

I have stumbled upon an all-natural dish soap that I am happy to use in our home. Another excellent product by NatureClean called Mandarin & Grapefruit Dishwashing Liquid. It has a nice fragrance without being overbearing in a migraine inducing way. It is non-toxic, and manufactured without dyes, phosphates or, parabens. Fantastic!

One of my big complaints with natural dishwashing liquid is the lack or absence of bubbles. Despite being SLS, (sodium laureth sulphate) free this product manages to produce an ample amount of bubbles in the sink. SLS is an ingredient often found in soap, detergents and shampoos.  It is a suspected carcinogen. Although there is contradictory information regarding the health effects of  SLS, I have decided to avoid it, when possible.

Ingredients aside, this is a good product.  Bonus – it is a Canadian company!  You can buy it at health food stores, big supermarkets across Canada or or on line.  It does a super job on dirty pots and pans…and yes, it even works on a Sunday dinner roasting pan.

Now what to cook for dinner tonight…

P1016199

