The Mindful Merchant

Shop – Eat – Live – Mindfully

Let’s go there September 9, 2009

Labour Day 2009 004 002

 

We all do it. However, for those of us that own dogs (or in my case, I have a small dog walking job) we have to pick it up. Yes, you know what I am talking about…Poop, Poo. Poops.

 

Most municipalities now require dog owners to pick up our beloved pets poop. It is a good law. It is disgusting though, isn’t it? Not to mention all those plastic bags going into the garbage is a frightening environmental issue. Think of the number of dog owners, the amount of walks a day, and do the math. That is far too much plastic in the landfill.

 

Now that many grocery stores charge for plastic bags it might be a good time to consider buying compostable clean-up bags. Be wary of companies that advertise as ‘degradable’. This is a very misleading term since plastic bags degrade…eventually.  There are many companies manufacturing clean-up bags and advertise as bio-degradable and environmentally friendly.  It is challenging to find one that is processed in a responsible way and breaks down in all types of conditions. 

 

I have tried many biodegradable bags only to curse (and gag) at their ineffective, poor quality construction. Some brands are adequate for little wee dogs but for those with big Labradors and Retrievers the requirement is far greater. I want to know that when I go in for the catch there is a decent layer between my hand and the….um….ball.  Biodegradable sounds fabulous, but the bag has to keep it together until the long walk is over. Can I get an “Amen” people?

 

If you are thinking of switching over to an environmentally friendly poop bag, I recommend trying Bio Bags Dog Waste Bags.   I should warn you this is not the kind of product you want to stock up on.  They really decompose so do not expect them to last for 6 months or a year.  Impressive, no?  Bio Bag Dog Waste bags get the job done and you don’t have to feel too guilty throwing them out in the garbage. My friends with dogs of all sizes and exiting abilities also agree. 

 

 

P1016199

 

One Response to “Let’s go there”

  1. Alli Says:

    Thank you, thank you , thank you!! I have been filled with guilt over the bags I use with my dog and I too have tried other not so helpful brands!! I will get these tomorrow!
    Yay!!


Comments are closed.