The Mindful Merchant

Shop – Eat – Live – Mindfully

FanTABulous! August 30, 2009

The_Top_Tea_Kettle_and_a_Cup_Royalty_Free_Clipart_Picture_090115-221287-272009[1]

I am a sucker for labels, logos and hopeful Zen-like inspirational quotes on the packaging. There are many reasons to mock that statement, so go right ahead. I am starting to smarten up about that.

One of the many problems with mindless shopping is that I ended up with dishwasher tabs that were very ineffective, unhealthy (containing toxic chemicals) all under the guise of being “environmentally friendly and green”.  You cannot convince me that the neon pink tabs that smell like Asian pears and Patchouli in a big pretty plastic tub is good for me, or the environment. I will not tell you how many times I rewashed our coffee and tea mugs after they had a turn in the dishwasher.  This carried on until useless detergent purchases were finally finished. Boy those were bitter days. What a waste of water, energy and time.

Luckily, my green-goddess-sister-in-law Tig listened to me rant (because that’s what dear friends do) and suggested a product that is a winner. A company called Ecover makes very effective dish tabs. All packaging can be recycled and it cleans our teacups the first time round. No harsh chemicals, no heavy perfumes, biodegradable, and safe for septic systems too. I try not to run the dishwasher every day, but when I do, I use Ecover dish tabs. If you are looking for a good green alternative, I think you might like them.

P1016199

